Changing to screws on my Mikov kit!

A growing number of collectors customize their automatic knives by changing scales, bolsters, blades, doing fileworks, ... Wether you're a guru or just a wannabe knife modder, this is the place to discuss it!

Moderators: Bill DeShivs, The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
Howard

Changing to screws on my Mikov kit!

Post by Howard »

Do anyone have suggestions about changing to screw on my second Mikov
kit knife? I have lot"s of mother of pearl shells and want to cut some scales for this knife and plate the screw heads gold and and some gold inlays. But I am new to kife making and unsure about changing to screws. :lol:
BennytheBlade

Post by BennytheBlade »

dont know... but as always when it comes to mikovs... I tell everyone to talk to nemo
http://www.nemoknives.com
if it can be done w/ a mikov, he can tell you how.
tr4252
Special Agent Oy Oy Seven

Post by tr4252 »

Hi Howard,
I think it's a good idea to use screws. I'm working on a mutated stiletto myself presently, and having reinvented just about everything there is about the knife; if it wasn't held together with screws, I'd never have been able to take it apart the last 1000 times or so to fix my foul ups, make adjustments, etc. Also they look good, and you're less likely to mess up those expensive scales by hitting your rivets once too many times with one of those sissy little hammers.
I chose to use 1-72 size screws to hold the scales on (and the bolsters, and pillow blocks & spring for the low profile push button mechanism I designed) and found out that they look clunky, next time it has to be 0-80 size, which is smaller. The blade pivot and the screws that go through the spring are 2-56, which works out pretty good.