Newbie Question - Italian Stilettos

This is a forum for discussion on automatic an switchblade knives.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
Cop_Out

Newbie Question - Italian Stilettos

Post by Cop_Out »

Hi folks,
I'm a TOTAL newb to Italian switchblades and have been reading the information here over the last few weeks. My first purchase was a couple of Frank B knives from 3K and my impressions were similar to what I've had read on this forum (Thanks!). I also have a Walt's Latama inbound from PVK, and I'm looking forward to comparing the two brands "side by side".

So, my question is: Would there be a significant upgrade in quality & performance with a custom-made knife, or is there a threshold where the knives aren't really improved, they're just cosmetically different?

Thanks,
C
download.jpg
download.jpg (461.55 KiB) Viewed 2011 times
button_man

Re: Newbie Question - Italian Stilettos

Post by button_man »

If you have not yet done so, I advise you to read this thread: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=30297&p=313650&hili ... ty#p313650

One of the shoddiest aspects of Italian knives is what I call "layer spaces" or "layer gaps" -- open the knife and hold it so you are looking at the backspring, with a window or strong lamp behind the knife.... tip it back and forth and you will see spaces between the layers of backspring / liners / scales that you could throw a cat through. And this holds true for Italian knives from the 1950s all the way up to present day; and in all price ranges as well.
They just could not be bothered to achieve a tight fit. I have cheapo little American "card knives" from the 1950s that are just as tight as a drum.