Hone and Restore a Straight Razor

This forum is for general discussion regarding anything that cuts.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
dark2023

Hone and Restore a Straight Razor

Post by dark2023 »

I have an old Genco Master Barber straight razor that needs to be honed, sharpened, and overall restored. It's currently mounted in some kind of after market plastic scales, which are horrible. So it needs some new scales before anything else. But that I can do myself. I just need some one who knows a bit about razors to get rid of the rust/patina and re-hone the blade (and maybe strop it).

I figured, it's a longshot but someone here MIGHT have the equipment and know-how to do something like this. If so please post, or PM me.

I may even try to shave with it...someday.
This is the magic incantation congress uses to constantly violate the 10th Amendment - "...the manufacture, sale, transportation, distribution, possession, or introduction into interstate commerce of such shall be prohibited"
Viking45

Re: Hone and Restore a Straight Razor

Post by Viking45 »

Surprisingly some of the best straight razors had plastic handles. I guess because it's the best material that can take years of getting wet.

I'm sure there is someone here that can fix up your razor or at least recommend someone.

Here's a nice straight razor by Boker if you have a few extra dollars laying around :shock:
http://www.knifecenter.com/kc_new/store ... o140500dam

Think I will stick with my 8 dollar Gillette 8)

Another nice one,I hate to think what this one costs.
http://www.darrelralph.com/assets/knive ... gsrI-4.jpg
dark2023

Post by dark2023 »

Surprisingly some of the best straight razors had plastic handles. I guess because it's the best material that can take years of getting wet.